• 1975-1980

    The early days

    Commercial Bank was founded in 1975 as a designated ‘Bank of Account’, providing valuable support as Qatar’s first private sector bank. By 1978, the Bank had established a foreign exchange and funding division and become an associate member of Visa​. In 1980, the Souq Al Ahmed branch was opened.
  • 1981-1985

    Strengthening resources

    In 1981, Commercial Bank continued to expand and strengthen its resources. By 1982, we had developed plans for our new head office and by 1985 the Bank had orchestrated a 10% share purchase of the Paris International Bank.

  • 1986-1990

    Innovation and expansion

    In 1986, we moved to our head office in Grand Hamad Street and by 1987 we had opened our first dedicated branch for women. In 1998, we introduced Personal and Vehicle Loans to our customers.

  • 1991-1995

    Breaking new ground

    By 1991, we had obtained the Diners Club franchise for Qatar and launched the Crest Card. In 1992, ​we introduced point of sale machines and in 1995 we launched our Qatari share brokerage service, Cirrus Maestro Debit Cards and Visa Credit Cards.

  • 1996-2000

    Trade and growth

    In 1996, Commercial Bank started to offer funds services, foreign exchange and bullion margin trading. We also signed a strategic alliance with Fidelity Investments.​ By 1997, we had become the first licensed broker on the Doha Securities Market (now known as the Qatar Exchange). By 2000, we had launched Diners Club franchises in various locations, including Yemen, Sudan, Egypt, Syria and Bahrain.

  • 2001-2005

    Making partnerships

    In 2004, Commercial Bank became title sponsor of the MotoGP Grand Prix of Qatar , initially signing for three years. In 2005, we created a strategic alliance with the National Bank of Oman.

  • 2006-2010

    Creating strategic alliances

    In 2006, we signed an agreement to become title sponsor for the Qatar Masters. We were also the first Qatari bank to issue a bond in the international capital markets.

    In 2007, we created a strategic alliance with United Arab Bank. By 2008, we had listed our Global Depositary Receipts, which became the first internationally distributed Global Depositary Receipts issued by a Qatari bank and the largest from the Gulf region.

    In 2009, the new headquarters of Commercial Bank was inaugurated by H.E. Sheikh Hamad bin Jassim bin Jaber Al Thani, Prime Minister and Foreign Minister of Qatar. In 2010, we launched Massoun Insurance Services with Qatar Insurance Company.

  • 2011-2013

    Efficiency and growth

    In 2011, Commercial Bank won several internationally recognised awards, including the Citi Performance Excellence Award and the JP Morgan Quality Recognition Award. We also launched Commercial Bank Investment Services and our Limited Editions Rewards programme. In the same year, we signed an agreement with TATA Consultancy Services to deliver back office processing and information technology. In 2012 a strategic partnership with Katara Cultural Village Foundation was established​. In March 2013, Commercial Bank agreed to acquire a 70.84 percent shareholding in Alternatifbank AS in Turkey ("ABank").

تاريخنا
Printطباعة
 

 الجدول الزمني

 
  • 1975-1980

    الأيام الأولى لتأسيس البنك

    ​​​







    تأسس البنك التجاري في عام 1975 كـ "بنك حسابات" وذلك لتوفير خدمات الدعم القيمة باعتباره أول بنك خاص يتم تأسيسه في دولة قطر. وفي عام 1978، قام البنك بتأسيس قسم للصرافة والتمويل وانضم إلى عضوية خدمات الفيزا. وفي عام 1980، تم افتتاح فرع سوق الأحمد.


  • 1981-1985

    تعزيز الموارد







     في عام 1981، استمر البنك التجاري في التوسع، وتعزيز موارده. وبحلول عام 1982، قمنا بتطوير الخطط الخاصة بمقرنا الرئيسي الجديد، وفي عام 1985 تمكّن البنك من شراء 10% من حصص أسهم بنك باريس الدولي.

  • 1986-1990

    الابتكار والتوسع







    في عام 1986، انتقلنا إلى مقرنا الرئيسي الجديد في شارع حمد الكبير، وفي عام 1987 قمنا بافتتاح فرعنا المخصص للسيدات. وفي عام 1998، أضفنا خدمات القروض الشخصية وقروض السيارات إلى قائمة الخدمات التي نقدمها لعملائنا.

  • 1991-1995

    افتتاح آفاق جديدة

    ​​







    بحلول عام 1991، تمكنا من الحصول على امتياز بطاقة داينرز كلوب في قطر وبدأنا تشغيل بطاقات كريست. وفي عام 1992، قمنا بتوفير أجهزة نقاط البيع. في عام 1995، قمنا بتدشين خدمات الوساطة في الأسهم القطرية، وبطاقات الخصم سيروس مايسترو، وبطاقات ائتمان فيزا.

  • 1996-2000

    التداول والنمو







    في عام 1996، بدأ البنك التجاري في تقديم خدمات التمويل وتداول العملات الأجنبية والسبائك. كما قمنا بتوقيع تحالف استراتيجي مع شركة فيديليتي للاستثمارات. وفي عام 1997، أصبحنا البنك الأول الذي يحصل على ترخيص وساطة في سوق الدوحة للأوراق المالية (المعروف الآن باسم بورصة قطر). وفي عام 2000، تمكنا من توسيع نطاق امتيازات بطاقات داينرز كلوب لتشمل عددا من الدول مثل اليمن والسودان ومصر وسوريا والبحرين. 

  • 2001-2005

    اتفاقيات الشراكة







    في عام 2004، قام البنك التجاري بإنجاز تاريخي باعتباره الراعي الرئيسي لبطولة البنك التجاري للدراجات النارية. وفي عام 2005، قمنا بإرساء تحالف استراتيجي مع بنك عمان الوطني.

  • 2006-2010

    تحالفات استراتيجية





    في عام 2006، قمنا بتوقيع اتفاقية أصبحنا بموجبها رعاة بطولة قطر ماستر للغولف، وكنا أول بنك قطري يقوم بإصدار سندات في أسواق المال الدولية. وفي عام 2007، أقمنا تحالفاً استراتيجياً مع البنك العربي المتحد. وبحلول عام 2008، قمنا بإدراج شهادات الإيداع العالمية التي أصبحت أول شهادات إيداع عالمية يتم توزيعها على المستوى الدولي من جانب بنك قطري كما أنها كانت الأكبر على مستوى منطقة الخليج . في عام 2009، قام الشيخ حمد بن جاسم بن جبر آل ثاني رئيس الوزراء ووزير الخارجية بافتتاح المقر الرئيسي الجديد. وفي عام 2010، قمنا بإطلاق مصون لخدمات التأمين بالاشتراك مع شركة قطر للتأمين.

  • 2011-2013

    الكفاءة والنمو






    في عام 2011، فاز البنك التجاري بالعديد من الجوائز العالمية مثل جائزة سيتي للأداء المتميز، وجائزة تقدير الجودة من جي بي مورجان. كما قمنا أيضاً بتدشين شركة البنك التجاري للخدمات الاستثمارية وبرنامج المكافآت الحصري. وفي نفس العام، قمنا بتوقيع اتفاقية مع شركة تاتا للخدمات الاستشارية لتوفير خدمات الإسناد الخارجي وتكنولوجيا المعلومات. وفي عام 2012 أقمنا شراكة استراتيجية مع مؤسسة الحي الثقافي كتارا وفي مارس 2013 وافق البنك التجاري على تملك حصة بنسبة 70.84 في المائة في بنك الترناتيف إيه أس في تركيا.